Welcome to Gaia! ::

Craftin' - A sewing, knitting and glue kind of place.

Back to Guilds

Reply Craftin'
Why I am Boycotting Wal-Mart--A message to all artists Goto Page: 1 2 3 ... 4 5 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

PrairieGhost

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 12:03 am
I am an artist, and while I can't yet make a living doing what I love, I at least can make a few bucks to help me through thin times...provided an egotistical corporation isn't standing in my way.

Over a month ago, I sent in an order to walmart.com for 10 prints of a watercolor painting I'd done, and I opted for store pickup so I wouldn't have to pay shipping. I waited until the date my receipt said my prints would be available for pickup and went to the store.

Only my prints weren't there--instead, I'd received a letter from walmart, saying something to the effect of, "We're sorry, your image looks too professional, and since we don't want you getting us sued for copyright infringement, we were not able to make your prints. Please sign the paperwork enclosed to cover our legal asses, and return it to us, and we will proceed with making your prints."

Now, I started shopping on walmart.com for my art prints because I was tired of getting this same BS all the time at local stores. "You'll need to bring in photo ID to prove this is really your original work," they would say to me, because you couldn't possibly write YOUR name on someone else's picture--that would be impossible.

So needless to say, I was already annoyed enough to do any further prints via another business, but the real doozy is what happened when I told them to cancel my order.