Welcome to Gaia! ::

~ Midnight Moon ~

Back to Guilds

~ for pagans, wiccans and witches ~ 

Tags: wiccan, witchcraft, paganism, wicca, heathenry 

Reply *~Forum~* (general discussion/questions)
Say Yes to the Dress - "Wiccan" Wedding? Goto Page: 1 2 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

[ Nicolette ]

6,100 Points
  • Conversationalist 100
  • Tycoon 200
  • Generous 100
PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2009 6:10 pm
Now, they didn't actually show the wedding, since it's not until next May, but on Say Yes to the Dress (a bridal store show), a woman came in looking for a dress for her "Wiccan wedding." I think you would call it a handfasting if you were Wiccan, wouldn't you? Not that I'm an expert on that, but... Anyway, so she goes on to say that it's going to be a "Wiccan fairy-themed wedding", so she needs fairy wings to match the dress. Just a tad odd, but hell it's her day. I hope they'll show the wedding when she comes back for her dress next year; I want to laugh at her if she isn't actually Wiccan. The only thing she disclosed about Wicca was that it was a nature-based religion. I think she said something else, but I don't think it was a clue as to whether she was Wiccan or not. But I would think you would mention like, the founder of it, since I'm sure that's gotta be important. XD

Thoughts on the matter?

PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2009 6:14 pm
I've heard of people mixing a handfasting with a traditional wedding ceremony, so that may be why she called it that. If I'm not mistaken she mentioned that her family wasn't Wiccan (although I forget what exactly she said they were).

It could also be that she did mention the founder, or other such important things, but that they cut it out for time or something. Plus, I've never seen anyone else come on that show and explain their religion, so why should she have to?  

dark_angel_32189

[ Nicolette ]

6,100 Points
  • Conversationalist 100