Welcome to Gaia! ::

The Official Animal Lovers Guild

Back to Guilds

A guild for all animal lovers and pet owners 

Tags: animal lovers, pets, animals, cats birds dogs fish reptile, official animal lovers guild 

Reply Main Forum
A few questions.. (Reptiles) Goto Page: 1 2 3 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Ananszi

PostPosted: Sat Aug 07, 2010 9:10 pm
Hi, I'm new to the guild. I would like some opinions on a few things, and hopefully some answers.

1.) I have never owned a reptile before, but my boyfriend and I would both like to have one. Our favorite is the bearded dragon, but we also like chameleons. Unfortunately, we can't afford a big tank, until possibly Christmas, but even then, we are kind of limited on space. - I have several 10 (maybe 20) gallon tanks that are currently unused, due to my mother loving fish so much. Speaking of the mother, there is probably no way I can convince her into letting us get a snake. I wouldn't mind having a frog or turtle. - What would be a good reptile to get for a first time, at least?

2.) I would like to avoid the crickets, my boyfriend may get the job of feeding the pet cricket. I heard of getting flightless fruit flies? Are they worth it? Can I feed my pet the flies for the most part?  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 07, 2010 10:12 pm
what you use as a feeder depends on what kind of reptile you have. fuit flies are way too tiny for most of the good beginer reptiles. they are good for dart frogs and other tiny animals

chameleons are some of the toughest reptiles to keep, they arent very forgiving of mistakes.

beardies are a great first reptile but are expensive to feed and like alot of crickets. plus they enjoy having alot of space and should be in at least a 40gal, some people dont go under 75 because of how active they can get.