Welcome to Gaia! ::

~ Midnight Moon ~

Back to Guilds

~ for pagans, wiccans and witches ~ 

Tags: wiccan, witchcraft, paganism, wicca, heathenry 

Reply *~Archives~* (BOS and resource room)
RUNE WORKSHOP Goto Page: 1 2 3 4 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Sanguina Cruenta
Vice Captain

Eloquent Bloodsucker

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2012 6:08 pm
Hello and welcome to the workshop! Here we are discussing the Runes - specifically the Elder Futhark - of the Germanic peoples. If you would like to talk about the workshop itself, or would like to join in, you can do so here.  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2012 6:44 pm
Introduction

This workshop was organised as a way of exploring different interpretations of the runes and to bounce ideas off other people. I am a fellow student of the runes, not a teacher wink We will be spending a week on each rune (this might extend to two weeks if people have difficulty finding the time).

I'll post up the rune poems every week and we can discuss our impressions. Remember to cite a source if you're typing out a quote from a book to share the author's ideas.

Rune books are not necessary, but if you have any, awesome. There are limited previews of books like Taking Up the Runes that you can read on Amazon using the "Look Inside!" and search functions. For my part, the best book I've found so far is the very brief "Rudiments of Runelore" by Stephen Pollington, so I think wise seeking, a good grounding and the rune poems are of primary importance and that's what we're going to go with, consulting other authors too for their impressions.

You may also want to refer to the Eddas and Sagas as we go, or read through some before we start.  

Sanguina Cruenta
Vice Captain

Eloquent Bloodsucker

Sanguina Cruenta
Vice Captain

Eloquent Bloodsucker

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2012 7:00 pm