Self labels. Goto Page: 1 2 3 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

This poll is about Kidney Beans
  >:O It's so dry...
  It's pastey ;o;
  I've had some bad experiences with kidneys...
  All of the above.
View Results

Silly_Doll

PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 7:01 pm
I'm not sure if this has already been brought up, me being pathetic and n00b-tastic and everything sweatdrop But I was listening to a rather dull arguement today... I don't want to go into details, lest I loose another 3 IQ points.

Self labels; I've noticed that with all cliques there are "the real *insert clique here* and the poser-*insert clique here*. Let's say that you have the most popular people in school are the... "real preps" and then you have this new-girl... nothing really stands out about her except that she is wearing the lastest Abercrombie and Fitch erm... what do they sell there... wash clothes? Yeah, we'll go with that. The "real preps" then begin to taunt this girl calling her a poser.

The same could be applied to any label I suppose. Like in here, we have a self-proclaimed "real goth" find someone that looks like hot topic threw up on them... they then call that person a "poser goth." Please understand, I HAVE seen attentionwh♥reness to the absolute max. But if we can claim that we are "real goths" should we also have the right to point out who is a "poser" and who isnt?

Which brings me to my next question... What is better, and what is worse, and why?
Self-labeling, exclaiming that you are the true article.
Or labeling others, telling them that they're not real goths, preps, emos, erm... theatre nerds, whatever.

If you had to do one of those things, be a self labeler or just a general labeler, which would it be?

And on that note, is labeling at okay at all? Even if you're stating that you believe that a person acts or says things just to get attention? Is that really okay?