Welcome to Gaia! ::

Craftin' - A sewing, knitting and glue kind of place.

Back to Guilds

Reply Craftin'
Knitting and planes; can they and do they mix? Goto Page: 1 2 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Knitting needles are ....
  Dangerous! Metal DPNs are as bad as sub-machine guns!
  Dangerous! You know that you can garrotte people with circular kneedles
  Perfectly safe! Old ladies don't have the upper arm strength to stab anybody with them anyway...
  Safe! Can you see me, a sock knitter, do any damage to anyone?
View Results

Beboots

PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2007 2:06 pm
I suppose it'd be too much to hope that someone else has been in the exact same situation as me, but I thought I'd ask regardless.

I get to go to Japan with about twenty people from my school for nearly two weeks around spring break this year. I'm a Canadian highschool student, for perspective, by the way.

Now, I know that the plane ride is well over fifteen hours long, not including the time spent flying to Vancouver international airport and the two hour stay we have there at that terminal. I'm going to be bringing along several books (cheap ones I can dispose of should I need more room in my suitcase for souvenirs) to read, plus my trusty iPod, but I would really like to bring my knitting. When I went to England last year, I didn't bring it and suffered for it on the way over. You can only read so many pages before the words start to blur before your eyes, your friends/family are only interesting for so long, and you eventually go deaf from turning up your music so loud as to cover the sound of the jet engines (particularly if your window seat overlooks the wing and the giant engines, as mine did). The solution for what I do when I feel stressed and my eyes ache? Knitting.