Newbe here needing help

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Dain Maxwell

PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2008 8:56 pm
um
Hi, new person here, and need some help.
I'm new to the pagan path, and am looking for a teacher or teachers to help me.
I am a believer of the God and the Godess,and a practitioner of magic, if you would like to help me in either path I would greatly appreciate the help
^_^
thanks and blessed be  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 8:50 am
We're all teachers and students here. Why not try asking some specific questions? That way, we can all try our best to help out 3nodding  

Atma311
Crew

4,350 Points
  • Citizen 200
  • Conversationalist 100

Dain Maxwell

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 10:51 am
sort of got tossed into the deep end and trying to swim
the only specific questions i have are regaurding a fictional school of magic i'm creating,
which is the easier of the two things i'm doing/trying to do
hmmmm well...
where's a good place to start? like in research?  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:02 pm
A fictional school of magic? Depends on what it's for. Is it for an RPG you're creating to play with your friends or for something else? For something like that, I find the best place to start is with a firm understanding of 'real' magic as there's already a system out there where you can draw inspiration from. There's a few basic aspects one needs to consider with fictional magic systems:

1) Who is capable of preforming magic? Can anyone do it? If not, is it an inborn trait? Learned from elite schools?

2) What is the source of power for the magic? Does it derive from the inner energy of the practitioner? Is it drawn from some mystical external Force? Does it come from a Deity or set of Deities?