Welcome to Gaia! ::

~ Midnight Moon ~

Back to Guilds

~ for pagans, wiccans and witches ~ 

Tags: wiccan, witchcraft, paganism, wicca, heathenry 

Reply *~Forum~* (general discussion/questions)
Tarot [Discussion] Goto Page: [] [<] 1 2

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Ellisari

PostPosted: Mon Mar 16, 2009 5:44 pm
I'm still learning Tarot, I acquired my first deck not long ago--- a Golden Tarot deck. I found it at Barnes and Nobles, and I haven't truly worked with it yet--- I plan on doing a cleansing ritual soon [I was actually thinking of doing it tonight when I came across this thread]

However, I have a deck of oracle cards-- Animal Messages. Yesh, it sounds incredibly fake and stupid, but I've found I like it alot.

I have been nervous to try out my new deck, though. I'm going to hopefully try her out tonight.  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 16, 2009 8:01 pm
It seems there are a few very different schools of thought when it comes to using tarot cards. The predominant one seems to be the following:

1) Use of pre-designed spreads.
2) Use of fixed card meanings (e.g. a book).

But then there's another one that I don't see discussed as often or utilized as much:

1) No spreads (or spreads always done intuitively on the spot)
2) No fixed meanings (e.g. relying solely on intuition)

From these two approaches, 'learning' tarot becomes very different. One involves memorizing symbolic meanings or meanings from a book along with all these different spread types. The other involves simply working with the cards and letting intuition guide you. One can of course mix the two to some degree; it seems to me that most people who pick up tarot for the first time really fall into the first trend more though. What do you guys think of this?  

Starlock

Shearaha

Aged Hunter

PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 4:34 am