Welcome to Gaia! ::

Craftin' - A sewing, knitting and glue kind of place.

Back to Guilds

Reply Craftin'
A little help for a newbie knitter?

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Aluxis

PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2009 4:43 pm
Hey guys, I'm a newbie at knitting and I'm attempting my second project, my first sock. It's coming along pretty well I think but I've come to an instruction and I'm not sure what it means for me to do. So I'm hoping one of ya'll can explain what it means to me.

Ok, so I've just finished the heel and picked up my stitches so I'm back on 3 needles again. It gave instructions for each needle for the fisrt round but for the second round all it says is to work even. What does that mean?
I'm teaching myself and although some of the terms have confused be a bit I've been able to work them out but this one has me stumped . Can anyone help me work out what work even means? Pretty please?  
PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2009 8:53 pm
Work even is a way to say 'knit with no special changes'. So just knit your next round and go to the next instruction smile

And I congratulate you on being so adventurous as to attempt socks for a second project  

gemini6184

Aluxis

PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 7:36 am
Oh ok, thanks so much.

Yeah I was afraid I might have been a bit too ambitious taking on socks but I just really wanted to try them and finaly found a pattern that's not too difficult. So they're just going to be some plain basic socks with no fancy patterns in them or anything but I figured basic is good to learn with. Hopefully they'll turn out ok and you'll be able to tell that they are supposed to be socks when I'm done. xd  
PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:46 pm
I think socks are a good beginner project actually. It's not too difficult, it looks impressicve and it helps you learn several useful techniques. You have the trickiest part covered, turning the heel.