Welcome to Gaia! ::

Crime & Investigation Guild

Back to Guilds

A guild for those interested in crime, criminology and forensic science. 

Tags: murder, criminal, forensics, serial killers, crime 

Reply Real Crime And Justice Discussion
Forensics discussions Goto Page: [] [<] 1 2 3

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Annie Anthrax
Vice Captain

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 4:24 am
I would imagine internships would be quite competitive in the criminal justice sector. Man, wish I was an intern when I was younger! Shame I couldn't find anywhere that did such a thing.

I suppose you also have to ask yourself what area of criminal justice do you wish to go into. The more legal aspect? The law enforcement route? Forensic science? Probation work?

There are lots of different areas and especially in the US, dozens of agencies involved in 'detective work'. While I couldn't comment on places doing internships, I would imagine most of them wouldn't say no to having you look around for the day or whatever.
I know it's not quite the same thing, but it'll give you a taste of what that agency does and see if it's your cup of tea. Also you could ask them how you can best prepare yourself for working in a similar organisation or get more involved.

It might be then that you decide to go to university and study into that area further, so when you do apply for a job the odds are heavily in your favour.
You can change between careers, so you can start out learning to be a lawyer and then switch to being a forensic scientist, but it takes a great deal of time (many years) and money (many thousands) to make said change. So, you know, be sure of what it is you want to do!  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 6:09 pm
Personally, I want to be a behavior analysist for the 2nd BAU team for the FBI. To do that I am going to go the police route and go the FBI. I want to specialize in homicide.  

Evan_or_L
Captain

Annie Anthrax