Welcome to Gaia! ::

The Polyglot's and Linguist's Guild

Back to Guilds

A place where people learning languages or studying linguistics can come to discuss and hang out! 

Tags: language, linguistics, polyglot, linguist, foreign languages 

Reply Language Learning - East Asia
日本語を勉強しましょう - Let's Study Japanese

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

How is the content of this thread?
  Really good
  Good
  Average
  Bad
  Really Bad
View Results

Mikagi-sama
Crew

1,700 Points
  • Wall Street 200
  • Hygienic 200
  • Dressed Up 200
PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2010 2:28 pm
Language and Culture

Self-Introduction
Hi, my name is Mikagi-sama. I am studying linguistics in university, and I live in Ottawa, Canada. I have been studying Japanese for about 4.5 years, and I absolutely adore kanji.

Method

Resources  
PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2010 2:30 pm
Language Family

Where is it spoken?
Japanese is spoken predominantly in Japan, but varieties different depending on the geographic distribution. It's interesting to note that the Ainu people, Japan's native people, speak a non-Japanese language that is facing extinction due to the forced assimilation and need to adopt the national language.

Japanese was spoken in territories which, during the Second World War, Japan occupied. This includes parts of Korea, Philippines, Taiwan and parts of China.

Japanese communities outside of Japan also speak Japanese.

Dialects

Writing Systems
Japanese is considered to be one of the hardest languages in which to become literate because 3 writing systems are used simultaneously. In all honesty, it's not as difficult as people may say, considering 2 are just syllabaries.

Japanese uses Kanji (漢字), Hiragana (平仮名) and Katakana (片仮名). Hiragana and Katakana are collectively referred to as 'kana' (仮名), which are both syllabaries.