Welcome to Gaia! ::

~ Midnight Moon ~

Back to Guilds

~ for pagans, wiccans and witches ~ 

Tags: wiccan, witchcraft, paganism, wicca, heathenry 

Reply *~Forum~* (general discussion/questions)
Solo circles?

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

TigerEye1996

PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2011 3:56 pm
hey everyone, I'm new to wicca and paganism. I find it extremely interesting, only my parents are pretty strict Catholics so I can't spend a lot of time researching. My friend, who has grown up a wiccan, told me that you can cast a circle by yourself. Can anyone please tell me how to do so? And if you have done it yourself, what was your experience like?  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2011 5:24 pm
TigerEye1996
hey everyone, I'm new to wicca and paganism. I find it extremely interesting, only my parents are pretty strict Catholics so I can't spend a lot of time researching. My friend, who has grown up a wiccan, told me that you can cast a circle by yourself. Can anyone please tell me how to do so? And if you have done it yourself, what was your experience like?

Hi TigerEye - welcome to the guild.

It sounds as if your friend is well-meaning, but may be misinformed about Wicca. Wicca is a fertility-based Mystery religion - its' rites aren't suitable for children, and so they are not made initiates. Wicca is also not a family-based religion - not even children of initiates are taught the religion. So it's not really possible for someone to 'grow up Wiccan'. I'm willing to bet this is a case of your friend growing up with a form of eclectic neo-paganism that is often misrepresented as Wicca.
It doesn't mean that what she does is wrong or bad - just that what she does might be better described by a different name.

The guild keeps a whole pile of great information about Wicca here -
http://www.gaiaonline.com/guilds/viewtopic.php?t=17613519 - and it's well worth the time to read it.