Welcome to Gaia! ::

Japanese Academy

Back to Guilds

A virtual classroom where beginners can learn to read and write Japanese. New students welcome! 

Tags: Japanese, Academy, Japan, Learn, School 

Reply School Yard Chatter - Random
Kai's random thought/fact/happening of the day

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Kai Shi
Crew

7,850 Points
  • Hive Mind 200
  • Prayer Circle 200
  • The Perfect Setup 150
PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2011 11:03 pm
As you may or may not already know, I've recently moved back to Japan. What's the scoop? I'm an English teacher at 1 junior high school and 3 elementary schools out in a semi-rural area of Japan. If any of you are interested in the route I took to get here, please feel free to ask either here or through PM.

So I thought I might start a thread on any funny little things I find/notice while I'm here in Japan. If there's anything in particular you want me to look into please let me know!  
PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2011 11:14 pm
The junior high school kids at the school across the street from where I live are having their sports festival today (taiikusai). Its amazing how competitive they get and the range of competitions they compete in. Some of the events:

relays
tug of war
tornado race (4 kids hold a stick and twist their way around pylons in a race)
a bigger version of a sack race (4 kids pull a tarp while 6 kids stand on it and hop in time together)
A big ball game, where they line up super close together and try and pass a giant ball along their heads the fastest.

And probably the most fun, a really intense cheering contest! At my schools sports festival yesterday my team won. And they were so overjoyed that most of the girls were crying!  

Kai Shi
Crew

7,850 Points
  • Hive Mind 200
  • Prayer Circle 200
  • The Perfect Setup 150

Kai Shi
Crew

7,850 Points
  • Hive Mind 200
  • Prayer Circle 200
  • The Perfect Setup 150