Welcome to Gaia! ::

Anime Conventions: The Global Connection

Back to Guilds

A guild dedicated to sharing/discussing conventions, cosplay, anime, and manga from across the world 

Tags: Convention, Cosplay, Anime, Crossplay, Manga 

Reply Convention Experiences & Running Panels/Conventions Info
Staffing at Cons - Your thoughts

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Have you ever staffed at a con?
  Yes, I'm a pro at it
  Yes, once
  I've thought about it, but it seems like a bad idea
  Hell no! You people are crazy!
View Results

Son Goshi-kun

Distinct Hunter

PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2014 5:23 pm
Hi everyone! I was just curious to hear what you think about staffing at cons. Whether it's your own experiences, tips, or interesting stories.

------

This had been my third year working at my local convention, and I've never been as angry at my fellow staff members. The new people in charge left a very bad taste in my mouth with the way they treated some of us, and I wanted to punch a few of them.

This was the first year I've been this dissatisfied with working there. Yes, it can be stressful, but I felt like I accomplished something. This year, I was crying due to rage and frustration. You should NEVER be that upset at a con....

PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2014 7:38 pm
I used to volunteer and help run the masquerade and peace bonding at a small local con a while back. I always had fun, but at the time all the volunteers were my friends, and the management was super chill. I'm glad that I did it, but I may not staff again for a while. I like the freedom to enjoy the con at my own pace.  

xinitia

Crew

Extreme Cuddler
Crew

Sparkly Sex Symbol

PostPosted: Sat May 24, 2014 10:20 pm
ive worked registering special guest, basically voice actors, industry guest and so forth, it was pretty chill. We had snacks and got treated pretty well they even bought me a yoyo to entertain myself with.