Welcome to Gaia! ::

Craftin' - A sewing, knitting and glue kind of place.

Back to Guilds

Reply Craftin'
any helpful tips for a nooob???

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Do you like the belle epoque from Knitty?
  yes
  no
  indifferent
View Results

Maki Minakoaino

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 5:17 pm
I'm thinking of making THIS. But, I want it to have a smaller neck. I know that means adding stitches, and as I'm fairly new to the entire knitting thing, I have no clue how to alter patterns. Does anyone have any helpful tips?  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 8:36 pm
Maki Minakoaino
I'm thinking of making THIS. But, I want it to have a smaller neck. I know that means adding stitches, and as I'm fairly new to the entire knitting thing, I have no clue how to alter patterns. Does anyone have any helpful tips?
The easiest way to make a neck smaller is to work longer before starting on it. That way, it will rise higher and still be wide enough to go over your head. Take a measurement around the widest part of your head, then add up the measurements around the neck and see how much you can add before it's too small for your head.
knitty
AT THE SAME TIME when work measures 23.5[24, 24.5, 25] inches, tightly BO center 49 sts in 1x1 ribbing and continue to work each side separately.

This is where you will have to implement your changes.

Or if you're absolutely unsure, you could knit it as directed then make an insert for it.  

gemini6184

Catcheen
Crew

PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 9:24 am
Maki Minakoaino

Gemini's suggestion is the way I'd go with it.  
PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 10:12 am
ok, so...would i have to add rows there, and reduce the number of short rows after the BO in the pattern to keep the upper part the right length?  

Maki Minakoaino

Peppermint Elf

Moonlight Warrior

PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 10:31 am
Maki Minakoaino