Welcome to Gaia! ::

Reply The Lavender Lounge .: Questions and Assistance :.
Meditation (see post 8)

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

people counter
  +1 ^^
View Results

justGhostie

PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2006 4:55 pm
Alright, i've found skirting around the idea of meditating is running me into walls, seeing as most of the workings and such i would like to do normally would have meditating somewhere in it. But so, the problem is, that im always thingking about SOMETHING. And those somethigns randomly make me twitch when im trying to clear my mind. Call it stress, i might agree. But does anyone have any tips on how would be a good way to go about meditating? Seeing as im still new at the whole Pagan thing, this seems like a solid subject to take a stab at.  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2006 8:11 am
You're always going to think, whether you're meditating or not. Focus too hard on not thinking and you're going to end up thinking about not thinking, so the trick is to focus your mind in on one thing. Say, for example, a candle flame. Other thoughts are going to enter into your mind, but you have to just let them pass instead of persuing them.

The twitch could be stress, or it could be nerves jumping; try finding another position, one that you're going to be comfortable in, and see if that helps. Meditation doesn't always have to be done sitting cross-legged on the floor; it can be done while laying down or seated on a comfortable chair. wink

The Bookwyrm
Crew

Ezinu

Unbeatable Hoarder

4,850 Points
  • Beta Gaian 0
  • Member 100
  • Trader 100
PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2006 5:28 am