Welcome to Gaia! ::

Craftin' - A sewing, knitting and glue kind of place.

Back to Guilds

Reply Craftin'
Big or Little Goto Page: [] [<] 1 2

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Big or LIttle Yarn Stores
  Big
  Little
  Which ever is cheaper
  Doesn't matter
View Results

sparklingbutterfly

PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 9:18 am
Brunette_Star
There's only one little yarn store near my area, and I'm sorry but the women who work there are total snobs. I told them I was a college student looking for a sock pattern. I was looking around at all the cashmere and alpaca and asked if they had wool yarn or acrylic yarn to practice with. The woman clearly wrinkled her nose and asked what I wanted with that. I told her I was going to make a pair of socks for my Dad for Christmas. She handed me a 60% cashmere yarn with angora and wool mixed in. I asked if she had something with more wool in it, and she replied "Well, don't you want to make nice socks?" like it was a horrid sin I didn't want cashmere. I was still trying to be nice at this point and explained my dad's a country man who doesn't like fancy fabrics. (Heck, he'd probably wear cotton ties if he could get away with it!)

The woman asked me what the last project I made was. I told her a baby blanket. I'd used acrylic yarn and a free Lion Brand pattern. She asked "Did I just hear you say Lion Brand?" as though it was a bad thing.

At that point I just left. I'm sure not all small yarn stores are like that, but this one was just ridiculous. That's why I buy yarn at craft stores.

i hate yarn snobs! grrrr.... not everyone can afford expenisive yarn.....my mom and i are actually quite partial to Red Heart.....you can find it at malwart......I can't stand the lady at one of the LYS in my city she is so snobby.....but all her yarns are very expensive you have to practically go in there with a gold credit card!  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 3:59 pm