Self labels. Goto Page: [] [<] 1 2 3

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

This poll is about Kidney Beans
  >:O It's so dry...
  It's pastey ;o;
  I've had some bad experiences with kidneys...
  All of the above.
View Results

destinygirl_8

PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2007 7:39 pm
i'd much rather be a self-labeler..why tell others what they are when out of anyone, they would know what they really are. But personally, i hate labels all together. I think people should just be themselves..since when should we have a label like a soup can?  
PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2007 5:27 am
destinygirl_8
i'd much rather be a self-labeler..why tell others what they are when out of anyone, they would know what they really are. But personally, i hate labels all together. I think people should just be themselves..since when should we have a label like a soup can?

You don't hate labels. You hate stereotypes.

Labels are the primary function of language. The purpose of language is to convey information by applying a sound to a concept. "Label" is really quite synonymous with "adjective". Without labels, we wouldn't be able to know anything about each other, nor would we even be able to understand ourselves.

If we stop usin labels and "just be ourselves", then we lose all individuality. We lose all definition. We all become a mass of indefinable, indifferent clones.  

GilAskan
Crew

destinygirl_8

PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2007 10:59 am
GilAskan
destinygirl_8

You don't hate labels. You hate stereotypes.

Labels are the primary function of language. The purpose of language is to convey information by applying a sound to a concept. "Label" is really quite synonymous with "adjective". Without labels, we wouldn't be able to know anything about each other, nor would we even be able to understand ourselves.