Welcome to Gaia! ::

Gaian Grammar Guild

Back to Guilds

The Gaian Grammar Guild is a refuge for the literate, a place for them to post and read posts without worrying about the nonsensical ones. 

Tags: grammar, literate, english, language 

Reply "TXT TLK" horror stories
The WRONG way to express love

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

CristoVII

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2007 6:54 pm
So, I was a voluntary teacher aide at my little brother's school, and during science the teacher confiscated a love note. Not only was it spread among eight year olds, but GOD FORBID, IT WAS WRITTEN IN TEXT TALK!. I was horrified. The teacher couldn't understand anything, and I was afraid he would do something rash and stupid like contact a military-grade hacker and codebreaker to come in.

It went something like this:

"l0l k so um i kina wna sa thi bu im frad"

That was a fragment of the first run-on paragraph.  
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2007 6:59 pm
I am an English teacher... where have I gone wrong? What is wrong with the world?  

Archdemonessa

Patron with a Mission

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2007 11:00 pm
crying I lament my fate.  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2007 7:47 am
gonk

I'm sorry, my face is frozen in that expression right now.

SilverMaple

Sparkly Lover

rae-chan-sensei

Lonely Kitten

PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:04 am
******** didn't know that kids that young were even aware of txt tlk! Holy... This is not good. Elementary school kids are still learning to spell properly, and some idiot dumps txt tlk into their laps? Not good, not good at all...  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2007 11:30 am
Quote:
l0l k so um i kina wna sa thi bu im frad

Translating...

Error! Code: LE-37.

Manual Translation engaged:

Quote:
(Laugh out loud.) Okay, so um, I kinda wanna say this but I'm afraid.

Lekonua

Wealthy Genius

5,625 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Millionaire 200
  • Treasure Hunter 100

X.x.Nari.x.X