Welcome to Gaia! ::

Craftin' - A sewing, knitting and glue kind of place.

Back to Guilds

Reply Craftin'
Beginning Knitter

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

KotokoPlum

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2007 3:50 pm
Hiii~

I'm a beginner knitter. I knit a pony from an how-to kit for my first project. (It came out... horrible to say the least. I must say it resembles an alpaca. xDD; ) It was all garter stitch, so I learned the basics and stuff.

So for my second project I want to try a scarf. (though this one'll be just for practice because I bought yarn before I knew about patterns having yarn picked out before hand. (I bought icky acrylic yarn, too. x___x;; Twas on sale, I think.)

This is what I'm trying to do, although I'm finding it harder than I previously expected. If this is too difficult for me, does anyone have other suggestions? ^ ^;;

I'll begin trying this anyway~ I've looked up yarn overs and knit two together and watched videos, but I have a question.

Quote:
Instructions:

CO 18 sts.
Row 1: *K1, YO, k2tog; rep from *
Rep Row 1 until you are almost out of yarn.
BO.

With 18 stitches cast on and one decrease and one increase with every repeat, there seems to be two leftover where I can only do a K1 and YO. Should I continue with the k2tog on the next row or start over? (the scarf'll get wider?! o___o;;; )

Or am I just completely wrong? gonk [/resolved]

edit: Well, I tried the second row anyways and durn, I really don't think I'm cut out for this yet. o___o (Specially not with this gross yarn.) So I'm making an easier ribbed scarf now. d:

edit2: Thank you, everyone! OO:  
PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2007 8:14 pm
The YO isn't actually a stitch. It's simply a placement of the yarn. When you bring the yarn to the front, that's your YO. You'll bring the yarn over the needle to k2tog.

It's hard explaining without demonstrating. Did it make sense?  

Catcheen
Crew

Lee Kushrenada