Welcome to Gaia! ::

Reply Newcomers
Questions from a Newbie! Shocking, isn't it?

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

gimme_chocolate

PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:15 am
Okay, so I'm (as the title says) a complete newbie to the world of the SCA. No persona, no garb, and only a very slight idea of how this all works. I've found my group already and everything, but I want to make sure I'm interested before I make contact. Before I go throwing money into this, I'd like to ask a few questions.

Most importantly, to me at least--must one do some sort of combat to participate? I'm not necessarily a pacifist; I simply don't know how to fight in any way, and I'm not particularly keen to get bruised up learning, at least not as a newbie.
---->If that is okay, would it still be appropriate to make an appearance at, say, a "Thrown Weapons Practice"? Those are the only upcoming events on my group's calendar.

Also, if I wanted to be a bard, would I need some semblance of an ability to sing? I was thinking I'd just learn to play my mom's old alto recorder (it's wooden! yay), but will that work? (I can't sing at all, so if recorder-only is too weird, I might have to go for calligraphy instead. Aheheh.)

Is there any feeling of elitism present among, say, those members of the SCA who throw their whole lives into it as opposed to those who don't necessarily spend a whole lot of time and money on it? (Or would this be a better question to ask my Chatelaine when I get around to emailing her?)  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 9:28 am
good questions!!