Welcome to Gaia! ::

Craftin' - A sewing, knitting and glue kind of place.

Back to Guilds

Reply Craftin'
Help?

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

knitting_needle_ninja

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 3:26 pm
I'm working on a lace shawl, and this is my first time reading a chart. I have a few questions that I hope someone can help me with:

~one of the directions says "slip 1, slip 1, then insert left needle tip into fronts of these and knit them." They way I understand this, you're just moving them from the left needle to the right, back to the left again, and knitting them together. Is that just to twist the stitches then?

~another part says "slip 1, knit 2 tog. Pass slip stitch." I get the idea of slipping a stitch and the k2tog. But what about that last part? Do I take the stitch I just made and put it back on the left needle? How do I pass a stitch when I've already knitted the next one?

~Now for the stupid question: This all comes from a chart, so one block equals one stitch, right? That last step would take three or four stitches, but it's still only one symbol. How does that work with the counting?

Assistance appreciated!  
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 6:23 am
The first stitch you described is a SSK a video instructing you on how to do it can be found at Knitting Help. The purpose is to twist the stitches so they don't look all loose and saggy (this would happen if you slipped both stitches purlwise). I prefer the SSK "improved" (also on knitting help) where you slip the second stitch purl-wise. I feel like it's a cleaner looking decrease. You can watch the videos and look at the examples to decide which look you prefer for your lace.