Welcome to Gaia! ::

Craftin' - A sewing, knitting and glue kind of place.

Back to Guilds

Reply Craftin'
Beginner Knitting Question

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

KiwiDragon

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 9:47 am

Next week I am starting a beginning knitting class. I've never knitted anything in my life so wish me luck. My question is this: the supply lists states I need size 8 knitting needles-are these sizes pretty standard? I have some needles that say 8 on the end, but they are pretty old (my grandma's). Do you think these will work, or should I just get some new ones.

Also, does it matter what yarn I use? As a beginner, I planned on getting some cheap yarn, but would that hurt my chances of being successful?

Thank you for any help!

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 10:00 am
Yes, the sizes are standard. Just that you need to know if you're using US or UK sized needles.
You can check the needle conversion chart for needle diameter if you want to be picky. US 8 & UK 8 are 1mm different only.

Cheap yarn is always good for beginners until you get the hang of it. And even after that, you still can use cheap yarn if you don't mind. I believe it's a personal choice. I started out using yarn that was $0.50 a skein...  

wynter_myst

KiwiDragon

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 11:03 am

Thank you for that information. I just have one more question. I noticed that the supply list shows that I need worsted weight, 4-ply yarn. I know that packages list the weight, but what about this 4-ply?

Thanks you again! I appreciate the help and hopefully I can share some knitting projects with everyone. heart

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 11:27 am
4-ply yarn is when the yarn is made up of 4 strands twisted together.

No problem~  

wynter_myst

kochi~mochi

4,750 Points
  • Peoplewatcher 100
  • Friendly 100
  • First step to fame 200
PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 12:22 pm