Welcome to Gaia! ::

Reply The Lavender Lounge .: Questions and Assistance :.
need help with information for a fictional school of magic

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Dain Maxwell

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 9:57 am
hello,
i'm a writer working on an academy of magic in a world where magic is not only a talent but an acknowledged fact.
i'm hoping to find someone(s) who will help me iron out details, like classes and different types of magic
i posted on the main page of the forum,
but realized it might be better to post here to
if you can help i would appriciate it.
also if you are just curious i would love to tell you the general idea behind the school and get opinions on it.
thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 6:28 pm
Well to set up schools of magic you need to look at the magic in this new world of your.

first is this magic a general force a sentient life force that runs as a current through the planet or is it based on different planes?

second are the people who practise magic born with it or can anyone learn it.

thirdly how is the magic invoked, through chanting, components, or just plain force of will?

depending on these components then you will get a sense of how to classify your mages.  

loahnuh

Dain Maxwell

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 9:36 am
loahnuh
Well to set up schools of magic you need to look at the magic in this new world of your.

first is this magic a general force a sentient life force that runs as a current through the planet or is it based on different planes?

second are the people who practise magic born with it or can anyone learn it.

thirdly how is the magic invoked, through chanting, components, or just plain force of will?

depending on these components then you will get a sense of how to classify your mages.

magic is reality, everything that exists has magic, also spirits or soul are magic that keeps the living alive
every living person has magic