Welcome to Gaia! ::

Reality: Resurrection!

Back to Guilds

relax with us 

Tags: contests, games, variety 

Reply 51: Philosophy.
Does the law assume there's such thing as Absolute Morality?

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

TheHellDevil

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 11:07 am
I'm talking more about the law in theory than in practicum here. I've asked the same question in other guilds but they kind of went off tangent so here's hoping that I'll do a better job of explaining myself this time around.

Absolute Morality, as in there's a fixed set of rules that we may/may not already know. Any action that is not within the boundaries of Absolute Morality is considered immoral.

And mind you, I'm no lawyer and I actually know very little about the law or theory of law. I've been reading a bit of Beccaria and it's piqued my curiosity... so here goes:

Does the law assume there's Absolute Morality? And if so, is it trying place it in words so that it could be followed?  
PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2008 11:39 pm

I think kind of, but only to a very limited extent. The law is, in theory, just supposed to be there to keep other people from violating your rights through force or fraud because that's the only way our society can really get along and make any kind of progress in the first place. From there, whatever you do is your responsibility, moral or immoral, and you reap the benefits or the detriments of your decisions. The law doesn't allow (in theory) a relatively small number of choices for people to make in order to open the door for a much larger range of choices to be possible to people. Some things are declared immoral across the board for everybody so that more of a range in the exercise of personal decisions on morality are possible to people.
User Image - Blocked by "Display Image" Settings. Click to show.

bluecherry
Vice Captain

Sage of Faith

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 12:01 am