Welcome to Gaia! ::

~ Midnight Moon ~

Back to Guilds

~ for pagans, wiccans and witches ~ 

Tags: wiccan, witchcraft, paganism, wicca, heathenry 

Reply *~Forum~* (general discussion/questions)
new to this guild, as well as my path

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Kaisune

6,500 Points
  • Gaian 50
  • Forum Regular 100
  • Friendly 100
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 10:45 pm
hello, as you can tell by the topic sublect, i am new to this guild, and to my pagan path. I believe in reincarnation, ghosts, phycic abilities, and premonitions. what authors would be good to start with?  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 2:45 am
Welcome!
Although I don't think any of those things, save for reincarnation, are specific to a certain path, Wicca (Traditional and Neo) believe in reincarnation.

It might be of benefit to you to read some of the different cultures' myths and see what strikes you and makes sense to you.

If you're interested in pursuing Neo-Wicca, Scott Cunningham's "Wicca: A Guide for the Solitary Practitioner" is a wonderful book for beginners. Thea Sabin is also a decent Neo-Wiccan author from what I hear. It would also probably be beneficial to read the works of Gerald Gardner, "Witchcraft Today" and "The Meaning of Witchcraft" to get a bit of a grip on what Wicca was originally meant to be.

Good luck!  

Violet Song jat Shariff
Crew

Resilient Raider

7,200 Points
  • Tycoon 200
  • Citizen 200
  • Gaian 50

A Scarecrow

Wheezing Autobiographer

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 6:47 am
I find Raven Grimmassi to have some fairly interesting books, but his books aren't exactly some of the ones you'd start with. They do have some very good information and ideas, though.  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2008 8:28 pm
There is a recomended Reading List in the Library subforum, that has a fairly extensive list of books that are helpful to those who are just starting out.  

too2sweet
Captain

Tipsy Fairy

Kaisune