Welcome to Gaia! ::

Gaian Grammar Guild

Back to Guilds

The Gaian Grammar Guild is a refuge for the literate, a place for them to post and read posts without worrying about the nonsensical ones. 

Tags: grammar, literate, english, language 

Reply "TXT TLK" horror stories
A+ student...

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Does she deserve her high GPA?
  Maybe she should just take math: unfortunately, that requires English too.
  Of course, it was an honest mistake... -rolls eyes-
  Yes, I'm totally jealous of her being an A+ student.
View Results

mc2

Shameless Sex Symbol

21,090 Points
  • Deal Me In 50
  • Married 100
  • Person of Interest 200
PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 5:00 pm

What irks me about the whole thing is how she makes those two mistakes in the statement she makes.

The following statement is made boldly in a Gaian's profile:

"I love kittens! And I am an A+ Student! yea your jelous! ok yea bye "

Apparently, grammar isn't in the curriculum at her school

My profile comment to her was as follows:
"Please, for the love of English language and the sake of "A" students everywhere correct your statement:
"I love kittens! And I am an A+ Student! yea your jelous! ok yea bye"
It should be, "I love kittens! I am an A+ student! Yea, you're jealous! Okay, yea, bye."
I know your "jelous" was corrected for you, but please can't you fix your use of "you are" too? Please? Trust me, it looks bad and detracts from your statement. Then again, maybe English isn't too big of a deal at your school."

Please note that she was corrected earlier by another Gaian for her misspelling.

PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 6:45 pm
That is quite astonishing to me to see that an "A" student would type that. o_O

Even I, an A student, would type out my statements and such correctly ( and try to in a medieval-ish fashion for some reason sweatdrop )