Questions/Advice.

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Transatlantic Ace

Shy Genius

PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2009 10:55 am
Okay, I have some questions/need some advice... at the risk of sounding like a COMPLETE newbie. First time I played Fallout 3, I kinda liked it, but it seemed really different (than oblivion) in terms of difficulty.

1) It seemed (for me at least) towns/quests were hard to find. I played for a few hours, but only found Megaton and like, one other town. And a place or two. And did like 3 quests.

2) I felt constrained/stuck in a limbo. I didn't really have enough money or weapons/ammo to do anything. I felt like by the time I completed a quest, I had to use what money I found/gained to restock ammo, re-heal, and restock items for the next one. I felt like I was in a permanent catch-22. Because of this, I really didn't venture farther than Megaton/its surrounding areas.

So, with those points aside, I'll come to the main point/question...

Can anyone give me advice on how to overcome this? I know Fallout 3 is a great game, I just seem to be approaching it wrong or something. Despite what they show/talk about in the walkthroughs, trailers, screenshots, discussions, etc, is it possible to create a character that doesn't rely off guns/ammo? Is there a better way to find areas, partake in quests, and the like without being "stuck in a rut" of never being able to leave a town due to low funds and poor preparation?

Any additional advice/tips would be greatly appreciated.

PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2009 11:01 am
It's mostly down to what you're trying to do. It sounds like you're playing it by relying on your items, try to use the terrain better. Look round, talk to people, and when you're outside check your radar. Hollow arrows are places you've not yet found, and that means loot.