Welcome to Gaia! ::

Geocaching Guild

Back to Guilds

A high tech treasure hunting game using handheld GPS units. 

Tags: geocaching, hiking, camping, treasure, adventure 

Reply Geocaching Guild
Wrong Coordinates Goto Page: 1 2 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Cache much?
  not enough
View Results

7raindrops

PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2009 5:00 pm
So I have this cache really close to my home and I have tried to find it about four to five different times.
I am not a complete noob. But I am not super great. I only have about 30
ish caches.

So I checked the coordinates, and double checks and looked at the hint, and looked at the past finds and still I can not find it. The actual coordinates have me ten feet into the river and all along the banks are huge rocks.

Do you have any ideas on to how to find this cache?
Others have found it since I have been looking so I know it's still there

Have you had this happen to you? What did you do? What do you suggest? Have you placed a cache that others have had problems with?  
PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 12:21 pm
I think all Cachers have this problem at one time. First step make sure you gps is calibrated. Second bring some one with you, some times you need a new set of eyes. Third do not give up when you do finally find it you will be like "How the hell did I miss that". Good Luck and keep on Caching.  

DenvoPryde

3,800 Points
  • Citizen 200
  • Wall Street 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200

7raindrops

PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 6:22 pm
wel I have boon caching with my boyfriend and we both just can't seem to find this one. How do you calibrate a gps?  
PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2009 10:58 am
What is the cache area like besides having a river? Any steep hills or tall trees to block half the sky? As was posted in another thread, GPS accuracy sometimes varies by anywhere between 9 to 18 feet even in an area with a good view of the sky.