Reply Buying and Advice
Air Rifles/Pellet Guns

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Mr Savoy

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2010 2:58 pm
I'd really like a new air rifle so I could practice shooting every day, rather than every week. The one I have now is a smooth-bore BB gun that just cannot offer me the accuracy I desire; it has bad sights that are a pain to adjust, it needs to be pumped 9 times to get full power, and it's not too accurate. (Partially my dad's fault for the decline in accuracy, though. He left it outside for a week or two and it rusted.)

What I'm looking for is a good, accurate, reliable air rifle (pellet gun) that shoots at a high velocity, comes with good sights, and can have a scope mounted. (A scope mount is only a very minor preference, though. First and foremost, I want good iron sights.) I'd really like a match grade air rifle, but I need it to be under 250 dollars. I've no real knowledge in pellet guns of any kind, and I'd like some assistance in finding the right one.

Also, regarding velocity- what would be the best velocity? I think 1200 fps would be really cool because of the supersonic crack. xp Contrariwise, it might make it especially hard to pump, and accuracy comes first. So, what's a good speed for a pellet gun to shoot a projectile at?  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2010 12:41 pm
Okay, I've narrowed my choices down to three main contenders. From lowest to highest price: The Avanti Champion 499, Avanti 853, and Gamo Whisper Classic.

The Avanti Champion is probably the least accurate and definitely not powerful. 240fps is pretty damn slow. The Avanti 853 might be the most accurate, but I do not know for sure. It still only fires at about 560fps. The Gamo Whisper Classic is surely more accurate than the Champion, shoots pellets at 5 times the speed, but is the most expensive and does not come with aperture sights.

Which one should I get? And are there any better?  

Mr Savoy