Reply Buying and Advice
Any good first guns for hunting? Goto Page: 1 2 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

inverse-actuality

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 12:08 pm
I'm 14 and want to start hunting. I live in PA so preferably something that can take down a bear just in case. It cannot be semi or full auto. I have no experience and I'm not going to pretend to, but I'm guessing either a .308 bolt action rifle or a 12 gauge pump action shotgun would be good.  
PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 12:58 pm
You're pretty much on, IMHO. Make sure you check your local regs just in case because some areas don't allow rifles and are shotgun only. The shotgun is more versatile than the .308 because you can take down deer, squirrels, birds and turkey without modifying the gun at all. (okay, choke tubes are nice) Some can be switched to a rifled barrel for saboted slugs if you are really looking for greater accuracy though.

If you only want to hunt deer or other large game and live in a rifle friendly area, I would go with the rifle then. The .308 is probably the best caliber for that size range because it is a military caliber. You should be able to get cheaper ammo for practice and there is a decent amount of ballistic data on that round.

Also in B4 870 vs. 500  

Man of the Demoneye

inverse-actuality

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 2:17 pm
Man of the Demoneye
You're pretty much on, IMHO. Make sure you check your local regs just in case because some areas don't allow rifles and are shotgun only. The shotgun is more versatile than the .308 because you can take down deer, squirrels, birds and turkey without modifying the gun at all. (okay, choke tubes are nice) Some can be switched to a rifled barrel for saboted slugs if you are really looking for greater accuracy though.