Welcome to Gaia! ::

Drawing a Day Guild! Improve Your Drawing!

Back to Guilds

Reply Drawing a Day Guild
ink stones and sticks

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Feuilles

4,550 Points
  • Risky Lifestyle 100
  • Bunny Hunter 100
  • Peoplewatcher 100
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 1:34 am
Hey..

I was wondering if it would be alright to make this thread? And other threads about materials,

I'd like to know if anyone here has used ink stones and ink sticks. People often suggest them for calligraphy because you can control the viscosity of the ink. Rather than buying ink straight in liquid form...
I've been told lesser grade sticks can ruin a high quality ink stone.. And that good ink sticks can be wasted if ground on a low grade stone.. It hasn't been explained to me why this is so. Maybe someone here has some insight.

I'm still new to this. I recently ordered some nibs to draw with. I have student-grade ink for now. Hopefully they'll arrive next week.  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 2:20 am
I'm no tquite sure where a thread like this goes, but popping up here first sure gets nice exposure (with current circumstances as is.)

Uhm wow. Ink stones? Ink sticks? Those sounds terribly messy----are they anyting like ink?

Like are they jsut clumps? Do they need water----am so curious. surprised

I'm sorry, I really have no insight on this----it sounds so new to me-----ink stones. Whoa.  

zenoxy
Crew

Lunatic

Feuilles

4,550 Points
  • Risky Lifestyle 100
  • Bunny Hunter 100
  • Peoplewatcher 100
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 2:39 am
zenoxy
Uhm wow. Ink stones? Ink sticks? Those sounds terribly messy----are they anyting like ink?

Like are they jsut clumps? Do they need water----am so curious. surprised
Here's a picture

The stick is that rectangular black bar with the gold writing on it. It is pure ink or pigment. Concentrated.
The stone is the round object.