Welcome to Gaia! ::

Passport Japan日本のパスポート

Back to Guilds

Guild to teach, learn or talk about japanese language and culture 

Tags: Anime, Contest, Japanese, Giveaway, Free 

Reply Japanese language
In Search of a Short-Term Study Partner/Teacher (via pm)

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Captain Dandy ^.~

PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2011 5:29 pm
Hello everyone. I'm going to college soon, but before I do, I'd like to brush up on my Japanese again. Unfortunately, my high school did not have Japanese classes, however, I was lucky enough to attend a language immersion camp (part of Concordia Language Learning Villages) for four summers, totaling 12 weeks. This translates into two years worth of high school credit.

Still, I'm not quite sure what all of this adds up to, so I'll just say that I'm a beginner. Here's what I know so far:

- Hiragana and Katakana
- Masu/Mashita
- 'Te' form
- 'Tai' form
- Informal present and past (dictionary form and 'ta' form)
- Particles (ha, wo, kara, de, ni, he...)
- Negative commands
- Basic adjective usage

I know some more, but listed above is what I've mastered. Also, I know little to no kanji, and I have little vocabulary under my belt.

I live on Mountain Time (US), so if you live in that time zone or one or two over, that'd be great, but not necessary. Also, I don't mind if you're not a master at Japanese. I'm fine conversing with people that are either at my level or higher. Because I do not know kanji, if you use it, I'd appreciate a note at the bottom of your pm telling me what it is (like a furigana substitute), and even better, the kunyomi and onyomi.

Thanks, and I hope at least someone is interested!!  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2011 11:30 am
Captain Dandy ^.~