Welcome to Gaia! ::

~ Midnight Moon ~

Back to Guilds

~ for pagans, wiccans and witches ~ 

Tags: wiccan, witchcraft, paganism, wicca, heathenry 

Reply *~Reading Room~* (discussions on books/authors)
Books, Spellbooks, Book of Shadows? Total beginner questions

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Erise Crewe

PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2012 12:39 am
I was once told that a spell book will not have an effect unless it's gifted. This was told to me by a wiccan who supposedly comes from a long family line of practitioners. I'm beginning to doubt the validity of that statement, and I was wondering if anyone could confirm.

I'm a complete newbie to the subject, and I have only just begun researching. My first assumption about witchcraft was that it was taught- passed down from generation to generation or mentor to student. This sort of sounds like the case, judging from some of the posts made in these forums. But on the other hand I had a distrust for books concerning the subject. I thought that anyone could publish a book, and who would be the ones to proofread/verify the accuracy of a book concerning witchcraft? Being an 'outsider' I view the practice as something secret, maybe even sacred that only very few know the truth of. This probably sounds silly since y'all probably experience it every day so it's not a big deal anymore xd

So my quest for knowledge began with some suggestions on the forums, especially the one recommended by the forum, and as I was browsing through the books i noticed books such as "Joy of Satan" and "The Book of Mephisto". I know I sound hypocritical, but I'm an atheist that believes in the existence of demons and felt a bit spooked by having books like that next to "Complete Idiot's Guide to Wicca and Witchcraft" I know that magick and satan aren't related but I'm having a moment of doubt (*insert some reassurance from the guild please*)