Submit

Did DMJ just grace us with a thread?
  Yes
  no, this must be a fake account
  DMJ = Satan
View Results

deadmanjay

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2013 2:17 pm
Would you ever think about renouncing your Christian/Other Religious ways if someone persuaded you with information/money/power/cookies?  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2013 11:03 pm
Cookies?
ninja

I want to know how you actually truly 'renounce' a belief... I could say whatever I wanted, or whatever I thought someone else wanted to hear, but it doesn't mean I suddenly don't believe it.

I mean, are you just trying to get people to SAY they don't believe something, or are you truly wanting them to change the way they believe?

Are we going to talk about Peter turning chicken s**t and saying he didn't know Jesus? I honestly think the hurt lies more in the fact that he wasn't there for his friend, more than anything else. I mean, if I had been running around with someone for 3+ years and suddenly I get thrown in the slammer and put on death row, and the someone I counted as my best friend wasn't there for me, well... I would be pretty bummed beyond the already depressing fact that I was gonna have the shittiest weekend ever. The fact that he might be in danger if he knew me though would kinda be hard not to understand though, given the fact that I WAS scheduled to be tortured to death.

As for personal beliefs, I think that is just that, personal... There really isn't a whole lot of stock you can put in someone's statement of their belief, because you don't really know what's in their heart.

As for changing what I actually believe for info... I have changed what I believe, almost on a daily basis really, because I learn new stuff every day. Every new thing I learn means I have to refactor what I already know (or thought I knew).