Welcome to Gaia! ::

Anime Conventions: The Global Connection

Back to Guilds

A guild dedicated to sharing/discussing conventions, cosplay, anime, and manga from across the world 

Tags: Convention, Cosplay, Anime, Crossplay, Manga 

Reply Southern Conventions
San Japan 2014 Review

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Cinnamon_of_Slumberland

Popular Fatcat

6,500 Points
  • Citizen 200
  • Money Never Sleeps 200
  • Forum Regular 100
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2014 3:25 pm
Hey, there! This is my first time posting in this guild. 4laugh
I thought this would be a good place to review the last San Japan.

Overall Experience: 7/10 smile
Good, not great. I went with my boyfriend and our friend and we had a good time, but I think that was mostly us knowing how to have fun and being in beautiful downtown San Antonio than the con. Let me explain why...

Panels/ events: 4/10 xp
For the most part, the panels were excellent. Panels we attended were: Aspiring VAs, LGBT Themes in Anime and Manga, How to Publish Your Writing as an E-book, How to Run a Panel, The Twisted Horror of Junji Ito. We also went to the AMV contest and Masquerade.
Aspiring VAs was a little disappointing. It seemed very amateur-y. I have a degree in acting and what I really wanted to know was tips on meeting with directors and auditioning.
Another panel that had the same problem was the panel on publishing e-books. The panelist seemed like he didn't know what he was talking about and didn't communicate any information that was new to my friend (who was the one who wanted to go to this panel).
The "How to Run a Panel" panel was pretty average. I will say that for panelist giving tips on running a panel, they didn't seem to understand they needed to speak INTO their mics.