Welcome to Gaia! ::

Gaian Grammar Guild

Back to Guilds

The Gaian Grammar Guild is a refuge for the literate, a place for them to post and read posts without worrying about the nonsensical ones. 

Tags: grammar, literate, english, language 

Reply Gaian Grammar Guild
I'm sick and tired of... Goto Page: 1 2 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Please answer before you read this. Answer this seriously. Are you Shakespeare's modern day reincarnation?
  Yes
  No
View Results

finalefanatic

PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 12:31 am
Why does everyone here b***h about how other people use words. I understand complaining about text talk and elite speak, but words such as 'ain't' and 'y'all'? Seriously, you need to get over yourself. I guarantee that no of you are actually Shakespeare's reincarnation. And just so you know, I'm an English teacher.  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 4:42 am
I'd say some words are bound by preference, more than anything. I personally use "y'all" both in written and oral form, despite never growing up/lived in any places where it's commonly used.  

Triste

[Val]

PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:41 am
I don't really use "ain't" or "y'all". sweatdrop

PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 7:09 am
I rarely use "ain't" and only occationly through speech do I say "y'all." Although often in my speech, typeing with friends, and role playing I will use a Shakespeareian way of talking.  

dark_elf

The Man who was Thursday

PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 8:50 am
See, this is what this guild tends to do. Vaguely read the first post, and reply with something that may or may not actually apply.

They tend not to read other posts within the thread.

Also, yeah, I don't care about anything as long as I can understand it -- including "txt tlk" and l3375p34k.  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 9:17 am