Welcome to Gaia! ::

Gaian Grammar Guild

Back to Guilds

The Gaian Grammar Guild is a refuge for the literate, a place for them to post and read posts without worrying about the nonsensical ones. 

Tags: grammar, literate, english, language 

Reply Gaian Grammar Guild
Could someone give me advice?

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

How's your day going for you?
  It's going great!
  It could be better, and it could be worse.
  I don't want to talk about it.
View Results

Patron with a Mission

PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2007 3:38 pm
I am a writing tutor at a university, and I wanted to ask several questions. Please be kind with your answers, and fill me with your wisdom. ^.^

1.) About 50 percent of the time, I tutor students whose first language is not English, and it gets tough to sit there and correct a paper full of comma splices and other grammatical errors. What I have done is to correct a few pages, and then quickly teach them how to use good grammar. Is this okay, or is there a better method that any of you have found?

2.) Do you put "okay" or "ok"? I have some students putting "ok" and to me, it just doesn't sound right, but I want to know what's actually correct.

3.) Are words that are in another language italicized or put in quotation marks?

4.) How strict is too strict when it comes to correcting other people's grammar?

Thank you for reading. Now tell me what you think, please.  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2007 4:31 pm
1) Sounds okay to me.
2) I usually use "okay." I think there's a whole thread about it somewhere around here.
3) I've always used quotes.
4) For the native speakers, you can never be too strict. For the non-native speakers, be a little lenient.  

sdfghjklsdfghjskldfghjkls

poggles

Sparkly Fairy

6,750 Points
  • Invisibility 100
  • Window Shopper 100
  • Friendly 100
PostPosted: Mon Mar 05, 2007 4:55 pm