Welcome to Gaia! ::

Craftin' - A sewing, knitting and glue kind of place.

Back to Guilds

Reply Craftin'
what to crochet~?

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Psycho Butterfly

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 9:01 pm
okay so I'm a newbie with crocheting... and I really can't figure out what to crochet thats in my range of... well easiy-ness... XD

I can't really do anything that needs to be stuffed (no polyfiber stuffing) ... and yeah..

D: help me eleviate my boredum~ surprised  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 6:46 am
well, shaping in crochet is far easier than shaping in knitting (in my humble opinion). Scarves are long so they might be hard to stick to for a first project; I would suggest something like a headband or a kerchief.

Then again crocheting is fast and if you use chunky yarn, double crochet, and a big hook you can complete a scarf in two nights.
If you're beyond scarves, you could try crocheting a circle (it's really easy) which leads to coasters, placemats, chair cushions and eventually hats and tubular pillows.

If you're beginning one tip I'll give you is that when you turn your work, make sure you start each row correctly. (I fould this up and ended with a badly misshapen scarf once... and then almost everyone else I know who started did it too >.<)

if you're using single crochet the turning chain does not count as a stitch and you'll crochet in the first stich and go right along your merry way, crocheting to the last stitch but not the turning chain on the other side (which is hard to see anyways)

If you're using half double crochet or anthing taller (double crochet, triple crochet, triple treble and so on) The turning chain does count as a stitch. So you have to skip the first stitch and double crochet into the second, and on your merry way until the end of the row where you will double crochet into the turning chain as the last stitch and turn.