Welcome to Gaia! ::

Craftin' - A sewing, knitting and glue kind of place.

Back to Guilds

Reply Craftin'
Fabric Help?

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

xX Yuki no Yume Xx

PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 3:08 pm
Well I'm kind of new to sewing but I've learned a lot of the basics from Home Ec. and I plan on taking creative needle and ???? (cant remember) next year. But the thing is, I have no knowledge of fabrics.

Im planning on making a kimono, which my Home Ec. teacher says is a good project for beginners.
But I hate talking to her... (shes kind of strange) So I don't wanna ask her.
Ive seen several sites that say cotton is a good fabric for Kimono.

As far as I know, the only place near me that sells fabric is Wal-Mart.

So, here are a few questions that I have:

» What kind of fabric do you think I should I use?
» Is Wal-Mart ok for buying fabric?
» would I be able to get them to cut it to my specified length and width? ex. 14 1/2 x 13 yards
» How much would 14 1/2 x 13 yards of the fabric you suggested cost?

Thanks for the Help sweatdrop  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 3:31 pm
Wal-mart is good for cheap, especially if you're not sure how the project will turn out.

The won't cut down the middle of the bolt, and most bolts are 45 inches (although some are 60. Check the label on the end). So make sure you have enough yards, and then add 1 more for safety. 3nodding  

AriRashkae

xX Yuki no Yume Xx

PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 4:08 pm
AriRashkae
Wal-mart is good for cheap, especially if you're not sure how the project will turn out.

The won't cut down the middle of the bolt, and most bolts are 45 inches (although some are 60. Check the label on the end). So make sure you have enough yards, and then add 1 more for safety. 3nodding
ugh, I hate cutting, I always screw it up, thats why I was hoping I could get it precut, but I guess Ill have to.

Thanks for the help,