Welcome to Gaia! ::

Craftin' - A sewing, knitting and glue kind of place.

Back to Guilds

Reply Craftin'
SEXY SOCKS..... Goto Page: 1 2 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Ever knit socks??
  Yes lots and lots of socks
  Yes but only one so far
  NO WAY! too hard
  Not yet but I have been thinking about it
  I dont knit......
View Results

Kumiko21

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 7:34 am
I want to start to knit a pair of socks. I have never done it before but everything that i have been reading online says that is easy and enjoyable. I still have a few questions though. IF there are any UBER useful links please include them......i really want your personal opinion though please biggrin

1) Is it better/easier to use circular or double pointed needles? Does it matter?

2) What is the best kind of yarn to use for socks?  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 9:00 am
If I could knit socks I would. I always need more socks. They just dissapear...  

Yousorrymon

Peppermint Elf

Moonlight Warrior

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 9:04 am
Kumiko21
I want to start to knit a pair of socks. I have never done it before but everything that i have been reading online says that is easy and enjoyable. I still have a few questions though. IF there are any UBER useful links please include them......i really want your personal opinion though please biggrin

1) Is it better/easier to use circular or double pointed needles? Does it matter?

2) What is the best kind of yarn to use for socks?
I've only knit a few socks, but I think that sport weight or less (fingering/sock/lace weight) is best for socks. Everything bigger is hard to fit into your shoes. sweatdrop

I use DPNs to knit socks... mostly because I haven't figured out the magic loop method. I'm told that socks knit up faster if you use the 2 socks at once or magic loop method. sweatdrop I also prefer metal DPNs to bamboo.