Welcome to Gaia! ::

Craftin' - A sewing, knitting and glue kind of place.

Back to Guilds

Reply Craftin'
Catcheen's baby stuff (lots of large photos) Goto Page: 1 2 [>] [»|]

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

Catcheen
Crew

PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2007 8:37 pm
As pretty much none of you know, three months ago I had a baby boy. My interest in knitting has now morphed into an interest of sewing. I'm still a beginner and can easily work from well written patterns, but I'm now venturing into having no patten and just a tutorial; or no guidelines at all. I've also taken up embroidery so I could make him one of those birth announcement thingies. (You usually see them in cross stitch, but I hate the look of cross stitch. No offence intended to any cross stitchers.) Anyway, here's some stuff.

This is Baz's birth announcement. Sorry about the glare, but I was too dumb to take a photo before framing it. I love how the frame mimics the backstitching I used for most of it. The first one is true to color, but the second one shows the stitches better.

User Image - Blocked by "Display Image" Settings. Click to show.

This is a lovey I made him. The satin around it is perfect for rubbing since lots of babies love to do that. The wavey blue stuff is flannel. It's small and portable and most important... replacable. I hope he chooses it as his comfort item. The thing in the corner is a barbell I made out of extra flannel. It was just an experiment.

Here's one of the blankets I made. Well, "made" implies I did a lot to produce it. It's mearly a yard of flannel I hemmed. But it's kick-a** flannel. The other one has little cartoon bugs all over it.